banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (2)
January (2)

*sigh*
Friday, January 7, 2011

Update on crazy
Monday, January 3, 2011
2010 (45)
December (9)

In need of a break...
Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Finding the "Merry" in Christmas
Thursday, December 23, 2010

Down time
Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The pump and science juggling act
Monday, December 20, 2010

But I don't wanna go to work
Saturday, December 18, 2010

Rejections
Thursday, December 16, 2010

In reverse
Monday, December 13, 2010

Back in the lab, sort of...
Wednesday, December 8, 2010

12 months of blogging...easy enough
Wednesday, December 8, 2010
November (7)

Open letter to committee head
Tuesday, November 30, 2010

By popular demand - The Arrival
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

How to do it all
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Cabin Fever
Friday, November 19, 2010

Donation reward - new pics!
Friday, November 12, 2010

Totally non-science news
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Why am I doing this?
Saturday, November 6, 2010
October (12)

Bribe time
Thursday, October 28, 2010

On the market - what to do with a priority score
Wednesday, October 27, 2010

DonorsChoose - more projects to support
Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Oh, the guilt...
Monday, October 25, 2010

Priority Score Confusion
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Working from home sucks; aka "Preeclampsia for Dummies"
Monday, October 18, 2010

Editor's choice
Thursday, October 14, 2010

Let the obsessing begin
Tuesday, October 12, 2010

DonorChoose - start giving!
Monday, October 11, 2010

Careful what I say...
Friday, October 8, 2010

To dance or teach...
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Tailspin
Sunday, October 3, 2010
September (6)

Challenges at the bench
Monday, September 27, 2010

What am I really?
Monday, September 20, 2010

A double standard
Friday, September 17, 2010

The Little Lab Bench That Could
Saturday, September 11, 2010

What I'm glad I didn't know before...
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Round Up: 8/29 - 9/4
Sunday, September 5, 2010
August (11)

Procrastinators beware...
Friday, August 27, 2010

You don't need no stinkin' permission
Monday, August 23, 2010

I'm still alive, just buried
Saturday, August 21, 2010

NanoKids!
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Dr. O's advice to new grad students
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Open Letter
Monday, August 9, 2010

What you should know as a new TT faculty
Saturday, August 7, 2010

Tagged?!?
Friday, August 6, 2010

A little professionalism, please
Thursday, August 5, 2010

How picky is too picky?
Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Hello LabSpaces!
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rate This Post
Total votes: 0
Blogger Profile

Dr. O

After a frustrating year on the tenure-track job hunt, my eyes are still on the prize, and I've learned that sheer will might be the most important quality required for this career track.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Recent Comments
Comment by Lab Mom in *sigh*

I'll miss you!  But I will definitely catch your other blog! . . .Read More
Jan 09, 2011, 1:53am
Comment by Dr Becca, Ph.D. in *sigh*

Updating my blogroll! See you (and Monkey!) back at blogspot! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 10:42pm
Comment by Suzy in *sigh*

I am looking forward to reading more about Monkey too. Take care! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 7:44pm
Awesome Stuff


Saturday, December 18, 2010

Yesterday was my first day back at work, and the first time in almost 6 weeks - correction, 11 months - that I've been away from my little Monkey for more than 30 minutes. And it was almost unbearable leaving him yesterday morning. I've spent the past year wondering how I would balance a family with my hopeful tenure-track career path, but this was the furthest thing from my mind during my morning commute. I cried the entire drive into work, wondering how in the hell I was even going to make it through the day.

But guess what - I made it through just fine. It was a short day, and I had a hard time concentrating, partly because of sleep deprivation, partly because I was wondering how Hubby would manage daddy duty after 4 weeks at work. I did get some work done, though. I sent off two job applications, planned out an experiment I'm conducting next week, and reconnected with a collaborator. It will be a while before I'm back to my old efficiency, but I'm sure I'll eventually get there. In the mean time, I'm taking things one day at a time, ignoring the work-family balance concerns that I just don't have time for right now.

This post has been viewed: 586 time(s)

Blog Comments

Alyssa
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Hang in there - I'm sure it'll get easier, like you said!


Lab Mom
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

The first day is ALWAYS the worst.. It is all downhill from here. Sounds like you did great.. Good luck with the Job Aps!


Gerty-Z
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I'm with Lab Mom. The first week or so I went to work I spent a lot of time thinking about Mini-G. But after a bit you will all fall into a routine and you will become the mom version of your super-efficient lab self. Great job on making it through the first day!!

tideliar

Guest Comment

Stay strong mom :)


Genomic Repairman
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Man you got this.  Monkey is saying Go Mommy Go!

Cloud

Guest Comment

Yep, you'll find your routine and settle in and it will be fine.


Eventually, you may even come to appreciate the fact that while you are at work, you can get up and go to the bathroom and no one screams at you.

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends