banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2014 (0)2011 (43)
October (8)

For the math nerd in you.
Saturday, October 29, 2011

Misguided.
Friday, October 28, 2011

On-line therapy
Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Moving towards generosity.
Sunday, October 16, 2011

The Longest Revision process ever?
Friday, October 14, 2011

Okay enough of the bitching and complaining. More importantly...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Donor's Choose!
Saturday, October 8, 2011

Update on #madwriting
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
September (7)

What's the use of Dropbox?
Thursday, September 22, 2011

It's the buddhist in me.
Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Seriously?
Monday, September 19, 2011

Homeward Bound
Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cell division
Friday, September 9, 2011

A giant leap backward
Thursday, September 8, 2011

Yup.
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
August (6)

This is wicked.
Friday, August 26, 2011

What will happen to Canada's opposition?
Tuesday, August 23, 2011

AcademicWomensansBabies
Monday, August 22, 2011

How people in science see each other.
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dork moments brought to you by Girlpostdoc
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Another one bites the dust.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
July (8)

Decisions, decisions...
Saturday, July 30, 2011

So what are you going to do with that?
Friday, July 29, 2011

Probabilities
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

more travelling...
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

travelling...
Friday, July 22, 2011

If you're a working-class American who still votes Republican ... you're stupid (Bill Maher)
Friday, July 15, 2011

Do academics have charisma?
Thursday, July 7, 2011

Happy long weekend.
Friday, July 1, 2011
June (5)

Love this.
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Not our proudest moment. But damn makes for a good laugh.
Saturday, June 18, 2011

Mansplaining without the man.
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Twitter sucks.
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

I loved this video
Friday, June 10, 2011
May (4)April (5)

Because IT'S FRIDAY!!!!
Friday, April 29, 2011

Because it's not quite Friday.
Thursday, April 28, 2011

Staggering, but frankly not surprising.
Friday, April 22, 2011

Hinterland of Canadian science.
Friday, April 15, 2011

New Digs
Friday, April 15, 2011
Rate This Post
Total votes: 0
Blogger Profile

JaniceF

I can't promise to be PG13. In fact I promise not to be PG13.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Monday, May 2, 2011

This is one of the worst things that could have happened to Canada.  Stephen Harper and his conservatives have won a majority.   We have lost our country.

This post has been viewed: 635 time(s)

Blog Comments

Psycasm
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

What does he stand for?

Edward

Guest Comment

Yuck. So what are the elections like in Canada? Are they based on television advertising?

Edward

Guest Comment

Actually, this election may be part of a larger trend. Europe has been experiencing a growth of rightwing and even fascist movements.


Brian Krueger, PhD
Duke University
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Ewww, so now I can't move to Canada to get away from conservative stupidity?  I can't do Europe, it smells funny...



Guest Comment

Harper rose from the ashes with a majority ... just as I feared.  What does this mean for Canada?  I have been glued to the CBC (let's hope it still exists after a few years).  At least there are NDP voices in Ottawa and Elizabeth May won her seat.  But let me tell you my goal in the next few years is to get a job with health benefits, just in case we lose our healthcare in Canada.


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@Psychasm   http://shitharperdid.ca.nyud.net/  The main issues are education and universal healthcare, which is in jeopardy under a Harper governemnt.

@Edward  I was hoping not, but its hard to know given that I live in the US.

@Brian  I know what you mean.  Now it's settled I'm not going back.

@Guest 8:52  The NDP only have 102 seats, Liberals 34, the Bloc 4 and the Green Party 1.  With 167 seats Harper can ram through pretty much any legislation he wants.  There is nothing the opposition will be able to do.

Miss PhD

Guest Comment

I'm sadly not surprised that Harper won the majority but was very surprised to see the simultaneous rise of the NDP (especially in Quebec!) and fall of the Liberals. I'm glad Ignatiaff is stepping down, he clearly didn't have the charisma to capture the votes. How strange to see the country so polarized for the first time. I guess people were just wanting an end to the cycle and some change.

I'm terrified of any Conservative attempt at health care reform. After trying to deal with the system here in the US, I can assure everyone that privatized is not better.

We can probably kiss research dollars good-bye too. Too bad, we were just starting to see articles about reverse brain drain....

 


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@MissPhD  Yup good-bye research dollars.  The NSERC pdf (postdoctoral fellowships) took a huge hit under Harper.  It's also worrisome because Harper's the guy who hired the chiropractor Gary Goodyear to be the Minister of State for Science and Technology.  This is the guy who thinks "evolution is just a theory."

Isabel

Guest Comment

Hmm, in the US these trends are are blamed on racism and religion. What's being blamed in Canada?


JaySeeDub
Dub C Med School
Rate Post:

Like 1 Dislike

I believe, from what I've read in NY and LA Times, Telegraph, WSJ and Le Monde has been fear of the ND, and the minimal effects of the global recession on Canada played into Harper's favor? While a commodity based market is not nearly as nimble as a fiscal market, it's more secure. However, it also means little to no real growth.

And since the business class wasn't hurting, why would they back the ND or Liberal parties? Both of which are much more friendly to organized labor than the solidly comfortable, and growing, upper middle and upper class?

I'm certainly not backing Harper. I found a lot of his policies...odd. To say the least. But, money matters can, and do, heavily influence elections.

Edward

Guest Comment

@girlpostdoc

 

If Quebec decides to secede from Canada you could always move there.


Thomas Joseph
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Canadian GirlPostdoc said:

@MissPhD  Yup good-bye research dollars.


Seems that not everyone thinks this will be the case.

 


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike
@JaySeeDub Yes money matters, but Canadians still trust and believe in government. At least they did until Harper came along. And my feeling is that the media blitz about the NDP gaining popularity is one reason why the conservatives now have a majority. The other is Michael Ignatieff. @Edward That's true. Quebec is looking really attractive. @Thomas Joseph Yes I saw that. But I favour Discover mag's interpretation more.
Lauren

Guest Comment

I am a fellow Canadian getting my PhD in the US and am also so dissapointed.  My riding in Toronto went conservative for the first time in years and I was so upset!  I am moving back up there soon, and hoping things do not change so much that I feel like I am still living in the US!


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@Lauren  It's upsetting isn't it.  Same happened in the riding I came from.   Good luck on your return to the homeland!

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends