banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2014 (0)2011 (43)
October (8)

For the math nerd in you.
Saturday, October 29, 2011

Misguided.
Friday, October 28, 2011

On-line therapy
Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Moving towards generosity.
Sunday, October 16, 2011

The Longest Revision process ever?
Friday, October 14, 2011

Okay enough of the bitching and complaining. More importantly...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Donor's Choose!
Saturday, October 8, 2011

Update on #madwriting
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
September (7)

What's the use of Dropbox?
Thursday, September 22, 2011

It's the buddhist in me.
Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Seriously?
Monday, September 19, 2011

Homeward Bound
Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cell division
Friday, September 9, 2011

A giant leap backward
Thursday, September 8, 2011

Yup.
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
August (6)

This is wicked.
Friday, August 26, 2011

What will happen to Canada's opposition?
Tuesday, August 23, 2011

AcademicWomensansBabies
Monday, August 22, 2011

How people in science see each other.
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dork moments brought to you by Girlpostdoc
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Another one bites the dust.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
July (8)

Decisions, decisions...
Saturday, July 30, 2011

So what are you going to do with that?
Friday, July 29, 2011

Probabilities
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

more travelling...
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

travelling...
Friday, July 22, 2011

If you're a working-class American who still votes Republican ... you're stupid (Bill Maher)
Friday, July 15, 2011

Do academics have charisma?
Thursday, July 7, 2011

Happy long weekend.
Friday, July 1, 2011
June (5)

Love this.
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Not our proudest moment. But damn makes for a good laugh.
Saturday, June 18, 2011

Mansplaining without the man.
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Twitter sucks.
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

I loved this video
Friday, June 10, 2011
May (4)April (5)

Because IT'S FRIDAY!!!!
Friday, April 29, 2011

Because it's not quite Friday.
Thursday, April 28, 2011

Staggering, but frankly not surprising.
Friday, April 22, 2011

Hinterland of Canadian science.
Friday, April 15, 2011

New Digs
Friday, April 15, 2011
Rate This Post
Total votes: 2
Blogger Profile

JaniceF

I can't promise to be PG13. In fact I promise not to be PG13.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Monday, May 30, 2011

This blog has been quiet for a couple of weeks because I am so overwhelmed by all that needs to get done to meet my goals.  It may be quiet for a little while longer...

But I did read this and it made me wonder if each gender percieves what constitutes housework differently.  Here is an excerpt:

An Oxford University study says if current trends continue, women will probably have to wait until 2050 before men are doing an equal share of the household chores and childcare. According to the paper published in the latest issue of the journal Sociology, ‘substantial and persistent obstacles’ remain.

The amount of time women spend on routine housework still ‘dwarfs’ time spent on non-routine domestic jobs carried out by men.  Nevertheless, there is evidence to show that the gender gap in housework and child care has been narrowing gradually. Women’s time spent on caring and chores in the home declined gradually from about 360 minutes a day in the 1960s for both the UK and US to 280 and 272 minutes, respectively, in the early 2000s. In the UK and the US, men went from spending 90 and 105 minutes a day, respectively, on housework and child care in the 1960s to 148 and 173 minutes in the early part of this millennium. However, the data suggests that the upward trend for men may have levelled off in some countries in recent years.

I think that HippieHusband and I are generally equal in the amount of cleaning, cooking and laundry that we do.  I am probably more fussy about the cleaning so I tend to do more of it but less frequently.  He prefers things to be clean on a daily basis so he does little bits of cleaning more frequently.  We alternate who cooks and does dishes.  I probably cook more but then he does more dishes.  Of course we have gone weeks where we're both so out of our mind busy that nothing gets done.   I imagine that things might be less equal if children entered the equation.

What's it like in your household?

This post has been viewed: 747 time(s)

Blog Comments

Psycasm
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike
Bit ashamed to say there's an xx skew at my place. But as soon as semester is over it closes by a large margin. Unfortunately, that's not a very long period of time...

JaySeeDub
Dub C Med School
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Err...I have roomates. And we prefer that I cook, in exchange they clean. The other two do cook for themselves from time to time, but let's just say I've come out of my room more than once to the smell of something burning in the kitchen. I say it's a fair tradeoff. Plus I'm the only one who cleans my room and my bathroom.


Brian Krueger, PhD
Duke University
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I think we split things pretty equally, but Whitney will probably tell you that we don't.  Pretty much she does all of the insude the house chores and I do all of the outside of the house chores.  We split making dinner on the week days (I start it, she finishes it).  She spends more time cleaning than I do on my chores.  I offer to help, but she says that I don't do stuff right and she'd rather do it herself :P


Suzy
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

He does way more house work than I do. He works at home so he can do things during the day- like foodshop- when the store is quiet. He does the laundry for us most of the time- it's easier to get the community washing machines during the day instead of the weekends. (It's mostly his clothes anyway, he won't wear something twice. Obviously he didn't grow up in a big family where you had to conserve your clothes because the turn around time for laundry was pretty long. Fortunately, the weather is mild so I am not sweating every day, like if I lived in Florida.)

He does most of the cleaning because he likes a clean place. I'm pretty messy.

If we have dinner at home, I cook. Cooking is not something he does well. (But he does make my lunch every day for work.) Dinner is typically the easiest thing possible to make or we eat out a lot because of our after work activities or because I tend to work late.

I have it pretty easy right now when it comes to chores.

 


genegeek
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I also have it easy. My husband is a bit of a neat freak and I don't clean 'right' so I've learned to just let him do it. We're about even on the cooking and other chores.

Kids do make a difference. When our foster daughter is with us, we revert to more traditional roles, with me doing all the cooking, laundry and organizing.

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends