banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (43)
October (8)

For the math nerd in you.
Saturday, October 29, 2011

Misguided.
Friday, October 28, 2011

On-line therapy
Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Moving towards generosity.
Sunday, October 16, 2011

The Longest Revision process ever?
Friday, October 14, 2011

Okay enough of the bitching and complaining. More importantly...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Donor's Choose!
Saturday, October 8, 2011

Update on #madwriting
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
September (7)

What's the use of Dropbox?
Thursday, September 22, 2011

It's the buddhist in me.
Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Seriously?
Monday, September 19, 2011

Homeward Bound
Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cell division
Friday, September 9, 2011

A giant leap backward
Thursday, September 8, 2011

Yup.
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
August (6)

This is wicked.
Friday, August 26, 2011

What will happen to Canada's opposition?
Tuesday, August 23, 2011

AcademicWomensansBabies
Monday, August 22, 2011

How people in science see each other.
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dork moments brought to you by Girlpostdoc
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Another one bites the dust.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
July (8)

Decisions, decisions...
Saturday, July 30, 2011

So what are you going to do with that?
Friday, July 29, 2011

Probabilities
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

more travelling...
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

travelling...
Friday, July 22, 2011

If you're a working-class American who still votes Republican ... you're stupid (Bill Maher)
Friday, July 15, 2011

Do academics have charisma?
Thursday, July 7, 2011

Happy long weekend.
Friday, July 1, 2011
June (5)

Love this.
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Not our proudest moment. But damn makes for a good laugh.
Saturday, June 18, 2011

Mansplaining without the man.
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Twitter sucks.
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

I loved this video
Friday, June 10, 2011
May (4)April (5)

Because IT'S FRIDAY!!!!
Friday, April 29, 2011

Because it's not quite Friday.
Thursday, April 28, 2011

Staggering, but frankly not surprising.
Friday, April 22, 2011

Hinterland of Canadian science.
Friday, April 15, 2011

New Digs
Friday, April 15, 2011
Rate This Post
Total votes: 1
Blogger Profile

JaniceF

I can't promise to be PG13. In fact I promise not to be PG13.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Every time I go to a conference, for some reason, I do something that is incredibly embarassing.

Last time the conference was very small and so everyone gets to know everyone.   As we were leaving the auditorium and in front of a large group of some very senior scientists I ran head first into a glass wall and fell backwards.  One of the people I admired most, Dr.RockPaper came over and exclaimed, "Oh my god are you okay?"  Seriously, I didn't see the wall.  And having bruised my ego, my glasses, and my head, I stumbled away in shame mumbling, "Yes, just hurt a little."  Later at the poster session, Dr.RockPaper asked me in front of one of the most senior scientists in the field if I was okay.  And then proceeded to explain to this senior scientist what had happened.

This year, I don't know how I did it, but I walked straight into the men's washroom.  Standing in front of me was the symposium speaker in a state of, shall we say, undress.  Exclaiming, "oh my gosh you're not a woman," I ran out.  Thankfully, this conference was large and hopefully he'll forget my face.

Maybe next year, I'll run head first into a glass wall in the men's washroom.  Sheesh.

This post has been viewed: 1637 time(s)

Blog Comments

yannisguerra
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Sorry about it. But I have to say it.

Hilarious.

And it had to be the symposium speaker, not a random attendee.

Classic.

Where is the pic from?

 


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I found it on google images but it came from a website  http://deadcity.ca/press/?p=686.  I don't think they captured the original image.


yannisguerra
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

The new feature of google images where you can drag and drop an image into the search bar is made of awesome.

The original comes from a Federico Fellini's movie The Nights of Cabiria (which doesn't seem to be such a humourous movie)

http://filmandfelt.com/musings/?p=33

Miss PhD

Guest Comment

Tee hee. I have a friend who is the same way at conferences. One year, he wanted to talk to someone after their talk so went to the front of the conference room and stood among what he thought was a group of other people with a similar intent. As he's standing there waiting his turn, he slowly realizes that people have fallen silent and are kinda staring at him. This is the moment he realizes these are not people who are waiting to talk to the speaker, these are the speakers friends and he has just awkwardly inserted himself into the group and stood there silently. He's got a few others, but that was particularly amusing.

Anthea

Guest Comment

Hilarious!! But I'm pretty sure that you're not the only person who's done these sorts of things as you describe in your post. I bet that people don't want to say for fear of embarressment.


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@Anthea  I hope so.  Come on people share the embarassment.

MissMSE

Guest Comment

I've been lucky in keeping my clutzy dork moments away from conferences so far. I think my personal best clutz moment was when I managed to trip over my own pants while still wearing them. These were perfectly normal boot cut Levis, and I've worn them many times without incident, but somehow, I managed to catch my toe one the hem, and down I went.

 

I have also fallen off of charter buses (more than once), but so far, there haven't been any major biffs at conferences. Of course, with two more to go to this fall, my lucky streak may not last.


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@MissMSE "I have also fallen off of charter buses..."  Awesome.

Amanda

Guest Comment

I was so nervous during my first talk at a major national conference, that I dropped my laser pointer mid-sentence. I just bent over picked it up, and kept going, only feeling embarrashed afterwards --I was so flooked with nerves there was no space for other emotions. I think some people smiled and chuckled - the could tell I was nervous. Good times.


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@Amanda LOL.  That's a doosy.

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends