banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (4)
February (2)

PSA: It's cold, buy a Carbon Monoxide Detector.
Thursday, February 10, 2011

Cold Fusion
Tuesday, February 1, 2011
January (2)

Going back
Thursday, January 27, 2011

Fun with Jackass
Wednesday, January 26, 2011
2010 (33)
December (4)

The 12 days of (Lab) Christmas
Friday, December 24, 2010

I really hope there isn't a number 3
Thursday, December 9, 2010

So why don't you have more papers?
Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Picking a project
Thursday, December 2, 2010
November (2)October (7)

As promised: Geeka and A Cow
Saturday, October 23, 2010

Finishing something
Saturday, October 23, 2010

A cartwheeling Geeka
Monday, October 18, 2010

Some Classroom got funded, I get embarrassed.
Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Bounty for Donor's Choose
Wednesday, October 6, 2010

If I couldn't be a scientist
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

That's not the shape of his head.
Friday, October 1, 2010
September (6)

Glutton for Punishment
Saturday, September 25, 2010

I talk to machines.
Friday, September 24, 2010

World's worst Journal Club.
Monday, September 20, 2010

The IACUC Chair
Thursday, September 16, 2010

Hell, I did know then, I just didn't know it until it hit me.
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Stuff Geeka Likes: The Toys Edition
Wednesday, September 1, 2010
August (9)

How I ended up a scientist.
Saturday, August 28, 2010

Monday morning crapped on my head.
Monday, August 23, 2010

Naming your equipment
Thursday, August 19, 2010

Stuff Geeka Likes: Inaugural edition
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Silent Squee
Wednesday, August 11, 2010

In which I come clean
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Having a bad day
Monday, August 9, 2010

My blogging philosophy
Friday, August 6, 2010

Balance? We don't need no stinking balance.
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
July (5)
Rate This Post
Total votes: 2
Blogger Profile

Geeka

Hi! I'm Geeka. I've been a scientist for, I don't know, it seems like forever, I guess since I started college, so, like 15 years? Anyhow, this is where I'm going to give my take on a bunch of stuff. I'm usually a little bit out there (that is, I don't see the obvious at the outset), which means that you are probably going to have to deal with reading such topics as: Interpersonal relationship training for scientists, my lab pet peeves, how to get along in business when you just came straight out of academia, trying to deal with having a life and being a scientist, really odd topics for a paper, random stuff I found on the internet that made me shoot coffee out of my nose, you know, (ab)normal Geeka. Why the title? Because at the very heart of me, I'm a virologist, and while I don't necessarily do that now, it's how I view the scientific world.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Friday, August 6, 2010

Science keeps me coming back; writing keeps me staying sane..

I'm a pessimist for myself, a champion for others. I love science, but would happily become independently wealthy and fund science. I have an existential bent. I've a realistic outlook on life. I'm not a snowflake, or cupcake, or someone that needs the sugar coating. I'm burnt ends, lavender incense, and generally a broken person. I have quit trying to fit in, for the most part, and so I blog, hopefully to keep me sane, and to keep others from the crazy.

I told my science teacher at age 9 that I hated science. I told my PhD advisor at 29 that I hated science. Here's the thing: Science is a crazy bitch. There is no greater high than a stack full of data. There's nothing that makes you feel more invincible than something that wasn't known before. It's a drug. Writing is like the rehab. The days when you can't get your fix only seem to work out when you can open your head to it. Science keeps me coming back, writing keeps me staying sane.

Fuck it, was my original policy, but that's only 2 words.

This post has been viewed: 201 time(s)

Blog Comments

Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike
There is no greater high than a stack full of data. There's nothing that makes you feel more invincible than something that wasn't known before. It's a drug.

And a mighty fine drug it is...

biochem belle
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike
I've said a few times that I must be nucking futs to stay committed to science and my dreams therein. But I think your explanation makes more sense-I'm not crazy, just addicted!

Lady Scientist
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike
Dr. Man refers to it as variable reward. So, you keep coming back because you never know when the pay off is going to be. It follows then that Science is just one be psych experiment.
Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends