banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (2)
January (2)

*sigh*
Friday, January 7, 2011

Update on crazy
Monday, January 3, 2011
2010 (45)
December (9)

In need of a break...
Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Finding the "Merry" in Christmas
Thursday, December 23, 2010

Down time
Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The pump and science juggling act
Monday, December 20, 2010

But I don't wanna go to work
Saturday, December 18, 2010

Rejections
Thursday, December 16, 2010

In reverse
Monday, December 13, 2010

Back in the lab, sort of...
Wednesday, December 8, 2010

12 months of blogging...easy enough
Wednesday, December 8, 2010
November (7)

Open letter to committee head
Tuesday, November 30, 2010

By popular demand - The Arrival
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

How to do it all
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Cabin Fever
Friday, November 19, 2010

Donation reward - new pics!
Friday, November 12, 2010

Totally non-science news
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Why am I doing this?
Saturday, November 6, 2010
October (12)

Bribe time
Thursday, October 28, 2010

On the market - what to do with a priority score
Wednesday, October 27, 2010

DonorsChoose - more projects to support
Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Oh, the guilt...
Monday, October 25, 2010

Priority Score Confusion
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Working from home sucks; aka "Preeclampsia for Dummies"
Monday, October 18, 2010

Editor's choice
Thursday, October 14, 2010

Let the obsessing begin
Tuesday, October 12, 2010

DonorChoose - start giving!
Monday, October 11, 2010

Careful what I say...
Friday, October 8, 2010

To dance or teach...
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Tailspin
Sunday, October 3, 2010
September (6)

Challenges at the bench
Monday, September 27, 2010

What am I really?
Monday, September 20, 2010

A double standard
Friday, September 17, 2010

The Little Lab Bench That Could
Saturday, September 11, 2010

What I'm glad I didn't know before...
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Round Up: 8/29 - 9/4
Sunday, September 5, 2010
August (11)

Procrastinators beware...
Friday, August 27, 2010

You don't need no stinkin' permission
Monday, August 23, 2010

I'm still alive, just buried
Saturday, August 21, 2010

NanoKids!
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Dr. O's advice to new grad students
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Open Letter
Monday, August 9, 2010

What you should know as a new TT faculty
Saturday, August 7, 2010

Tagged?!?
Friday, August 6, 2010

A little professionalism, please
Thursday, August 5, 2010

How picky is too picky?
Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Hello LabSpaces!
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rate This Post
Total votes: 1
Blogger Profile

Dr. O

After a frustrating year on the tenure-track job hunt, my eyes are still on the prize, and I've learned that sheer will might be the most important quality required for this career track.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Recent Comments
Comment by Lab Mom in *sigh*

I'll miss you!  But I will definitely catch your other blog! . . .Read More
Jan 09, 2011, 1:53am
Comment by Dr Becca, Ph.D. in *sigh*

Updating my blogroll! See you (and Monkey!) back at blogspot! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 10:42pm
Comment by Suzy in *sigh*

I am looking forward to reading more about Monkey too. Take care! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 7:44pm
Awesome Stuff


Wednesday, October 20, 2010

So I finally have it - the much-anticipated score on my K grant - and I have no idea what to think. It's a 31 - not a great score, but certainly fundable some years at certain institutes. Unfortunately, last year's payline for this specific grant mechanism at my particular institute was a 26, so I'm not holding my breath. The council meeting, where decisions are made, doesn't take place until January...so I'm left with the wait-and-see plan for now.

My current predicament - I have several job applications due before the council meeting, a couple of which require some sort of funding for consideration. Should I include this score in the cover letters for these job applications? I don't have a good feel for how impressive/pathetic this will look, but I don't want to pass up including a potential "positive" in my applications. It's a bitch to get noticed by search committees these days. I'm waiting to hear back from the boss man on his opinion, but I certainly would appreciate the thoughts of others out there as well...

This post has been viewed: 3197 time(s)

Blog Comments

Dr Becca, Ph.D.
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I'd get in touch with your PO immediately. He/she can give you a better sense of what the vibe was about your proposal during study session, and when you get your Summary Statement, you may be able to write a response that will help put you over the funding line.


Gerty-Z
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I second Dr. Becca-you should call your PO right now. But, for the job applications, I would say that you should definately include your score. Perhaps not in the cover letter, unless your PO indicates that you have a non-zero chance of funding. Then you might have a sentence about your "K99/R00 application, which recieved a favorable score...". Otherwise, have it on your CV. Even if it isn't funded, I know that there are search committees that will look favorably on the fact that you wrote something that could get a 31.


Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Heard back from my PO, and he doesn't think that it will get funded based on last year's paylines. But he also said there's no way to know for sure until they have a budget and aren't on CR. Dontcha just love waiting on the government to do its job?

I probably won't try to get any more info from the PO until I have my summary statement in hand in a few weeks - he seemed very big on having that in front of him when chatting a few months ago about my first app.

After talking to the boss man and reading comments, I'm going to include the score in my CV for theses apps. I might also mention it in the cover letter for the jobs that specifically requested for funding, at least those familiar with the K mechanism I applied under...just need to figure out the right wording. Can't hurt, right?


Namnezia
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I would not put the score, just mention that you submitted the grant and received a "competitive" score.

 


Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

I like how that sounds, Namnezia...I can still say that even if it's not likely "fundable"?


Namnezia
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Sure, as long as there's a chance, it's competitive, no?


Gerty-Z
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

No PO is going to say anything definitive one way or the other about funding until after the check is in the mail. It is the NIH way. It is totally fair to say "competitive". If someone wants to know more they will ask for the score.


Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Makes sense...just wanted to make sure I didn't "oversell". Thanks guys!


Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Sleepless night because of back pain, so I was up working on the job apps...DM has a a different view from using the "competitive" wording that I'm thinking of...

expat

Guest Comment

Gotta agree with DM ... list the score (and last year's payline) ... makes sure it's known as probably funded.

 

 

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends