banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2014 (0)2011 (2)
January (2)

*sigh*
Friday, January 7, 2011

Update on crazy
Monday, January 3, 2011
2010 (45)
December (9)

In need of a break...
Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Finding the "Merry" in Christmas
Thursday, December 23, 2010

Down time
Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The pump and science juggling act
Monday, December 20, 2010

But I don't wanna go to work
Saturday, December 18, 2010

Rejections
Thursday, December 16, 2010

In reverse
Monday, December 13, 2010

Back in the lab, sort of...
Wednesday, December 8, 2010

12 months of blogging...easy enough
Wednesday, December 8, 2010
November (7)

Open letter to committee head
Tuesday, November 30, 2010

By popular demand - The Arrival
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

How to do it all
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Cabin Fever
Friday, November 19, 2010

Donation reward - new pics!
Friday, November 12, 2010

Totally non-science news
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Why am I doing this?
Saturday, November 6, 2010
October (12)

Bribe time
Thursday, October 28, 2010

On the market - what to do with a priority score
Wednesday, October 27, 2010

DonorsChoose - more projects to support
Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Oh, the guilt...
Monday, October 25, 2010

Priority Score Confusion
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Working from home sucks; aka "Preeclampsia for Dummies"
Monday, October 18, 2010

Editor's choice
Thursday, October 14, 2010

Let the obsessing begin
Tuesday, October 12, 2010

DonorChoose - start giving!
Monday, October 11, 2010

Careful what I say...
Friday, October 8, 2010

To dance or teach...
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Tailspin
Sunday, October 3, 2010
September (6)

Challenges at the bench
Monday, September 27, 2010

What am I really?
Monday, September 20, 2010

A double standard
Friday, September 17, 2010

The Little Lab Bench That Could
Saturday, September 11, 2010

What I'm glad I didn't know before...
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Round Up: 8/29 - 9/4
Sunday, September 5, 2010
August (11)

Procrastinators beware...
Friday, August 27, 2010

You don't need no stinkin' permission
Monday, August 23, 2010

I'm still alive, just buried
Saturday, August 21, 2010

NanoKids!
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Dr. O's advice to new grad students
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Open Letter
Monday, August 9, 2010

What you should know as a new TT faculty
Saturday, August 7, 2010

Tagged?!?
Friday, August 6, 2010

A little professionalism, please
Thursday, August 5, 2010

How picky is too picky?
Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Hello LabSpaces!
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rate This Post
Total votes: 0
Blogger Profile

Dr. O

After a frustrating year on the tenure-track job hunt, my eyes are still on the prize, and I've learned that sheer will might be the most important quality required for this career track.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Recent Comments
Comment by Lab Mom in *sigh*

I'll miss you!  But I will definitely catch your other blog! . . .Read More
Jan 09, 2011, 1:53am
Comment by Dr Becca, Ph.D. in *sigh*

Updating my blogroll! See you (and Monkey!) back at blogspot! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 10:42pm
Comment by Suzy in *sigh*

I am looking forward to reading more about Monkey too. Take care! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 7:44pm
Awesome Stuff


Friday, November 19, 2010

Alright, it's official. I am not cut out to be a stay-at-home mom. Yeah, I already knew this, but you never really know it until you try it out for a while. I'm about to go absolutely bat-shit stir-crazy and am counting the days until I head back to work. Of course, I'm still in the midst of my physical recovery, which became strikingly obvious during my half-mile walk with Hubby and the Monkey this afternoon. Plus, we're still trying to get the hang of our new lack-of sleep schedule that Monkey is orchestrating. In spite of this exhaustion, I'm already planning out experiments for my return the lab. I'm also looking forward to a quick work trip after Thanksgiving to pick up my maternity leave work pile, which I put together the week before going into labor. ("Nesting" for a lab-workaholic evidently manifests itself as organizing lab notebooks, manuscripts, and data for the home office.)

More than anything, though, I'm looking forward to experiencing normalcy again. Not that I don't enjoy motherhood - I'm absolutely in love with the Monkey and couldn't be happier to have him here. But going from the intense intellectual stimulation of my previous life to the mundane chores of cooking, cleaning, and laundry (and OMG there's so much laundry), mixed in with diaper changes and feedings, has got me feeling quite nostalgic for the bench. The cure for my cabin fever? Well, I started cruising the job search engines this week, and I'll likely begin surfing PubMed this weekend. I'm also hoping to bring this blog back to life, although my posts may be a little heavy on Monkey talk until I get back into the full swing of work. In the meantime, I'm imagining some interesting posts on balancing diaper changes with manuscript composition, or juggling breastfeeding with collaborator conference calls. Quite the visuals, huh?

This post has been viewed: 350 time(s)

Blog Comments

Gerty-Z
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

that sounds about right! I'm glad to hear that everything is going well. Isn't it incredible how much laundry such a little person can generate?!


Dr Becca, Ph.D.
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Monkey talk FTW!


the modern scientist
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Congrats again. I can imagine I'd get pretty antsy at home. Here's to multitasking. :)

 


Prabodh Kandala
Texas Tech University Health Science Center
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Good Luck Dr. O


Arlenna
Rate Post:

Like 1 Dislike

I sooo hear ya lady!!!! That was where I was at very soon post-baby. Even now that she's developing more personality and is a lot more fun, I still get stir crazy spending too many full days in a row on baby care. Hang in there and make sure you have some outlets for the outside and grownups for when you need them.

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends