banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (2)
January (2)

*sigh*
Friday, January 7, 2011

Update on crazy
Monday, January 3, 2011
2010 (45)
December (9)

In need of a break...
Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Finding the "Merry" in Christmas
Thursday, December 23, 2010

Down time
Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The pump and science juggling act
Monday, December 20, 2010

But I don't wanna go to work
Saturday, December 18, 2010

Rejections
Thursday, December 16, 2010

In reverse
Monday, December 13, 2010

Back in the lab, sort of...
Wednesday, December 8, 2010

12 months of blogging...easy enough
Wednesday, December 8, 2010
November (7)

Open letter to committee head
Tuesday, November 30, 2010

By popular demand - The Arrival
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

How to do it all
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Cabin Fever
Friday, November 19, 2010

Donation reward - new pics!
Friday, November 12, 2010

Totally non-science news
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Why am I doing this?
Saturday, November 6, 2010
October (12)

Bribe time
Thursday, October 28, 2010

On the market - what to do with a priority score
Wednesday, October 27, 2010

DonorsChoose - more projects to support
Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Oh, the guilt...
Monday, October 25, 2010

Priority Score Confusion
Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Working from home sucks; aka "Preeclampsia for Dummies"
Monday, October 18, 2010

Editor's choice
Thursday, October 14, 2010

Let the obsessing begin
Tuesday, October 12, 2010

DonorChoose - start giving!
Monday, October 11, 2010

Careful what I say...
Friday, October 8, 2010

To dance or teach...
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Tailspin
Sunday, October 3, 2010
September (6)

Challenges at the bench
Monday, September 27, 2010

What am I really?
Monday, September 20, 2010

A double standard
Friday, September 17, 2010

The Little Lab Bench That Could
Saturday, September 11, 2010

What I'm glad I didn't know before...
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Round Up: 8/29 - 9/4
Sunday, September 5, 2010
August (11)

Procrastinators beware...
Friday, August 27, 2010

You don't need no stinkin' permission
Monday, August 23, 2010

I'm still alive, just buried
Saturday, August 21, 2010

NanoKids!
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Dr. O's advice to new grad students
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Open Letter
Monday, August 9, 2010

What you should know as a new TT faculty
Saturday, August 7, 2010

Tagged?!?
Friday, August 6, 2010

A little professionalism, please
Thursday, August 5, 2010

How picky is too picky?
Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Hello LabSpaces!
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rate This Post
Total votes: 1
Blogger Profile

Dr. O

After a frustrating year on the tenure-track job hunt, my eyes are still on the prize, and I've learned that sheer will might be the most important quality required for this career track.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Recent Comments
Comment by Lab Mom in *sigh*

I'll miss you!  But I will definitely catch your other blog! . . .Read More
Jan 09, 2011, 1:53am
Comment by Dr Becca, Ph.D. in *sigh*

Updating my blogroll! See you (and Monkey!) back at blogspot! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 10:42pm
Comment by Suzy in *sigh*

I am looking forward to reading more about Monkey too. Take care! . . .Read More
Jan 07, 2011, 7:44pm
Awesome Stuff


Tuesday, October 12, 2010

It's scary times for this researcher. My K grant resubmission gets reviewed tomorrow. The K grant that could move me into the short-list-for-an-interview pile by job search committees. The K grant that could strengthen my negotiations for a TT faculty position. The K grant that could give me money to start my lab. That K grant. And my obsession with eRA commons (where one goes to find out how their grant is reviewed) has already gone into overdrive.

Not that there's anything I can glean from the commons website right now - I mean, the grant hasn't even been reviewed yet. Yet I'm still able to find plenty of information over there on which to obsess. The list of reviewers on my study section, for instance - there are notable differences from the one that reviewed my first submission (obviously). What do these differences mean??? And then there's the googling of paylines for the K grant mechanism at my institute. What's a good impact score going to be? Not that anybody really knows, since the K grant paylines have yet to be determined. The council meeting date isn't even until January, 2011. Is that stopping me? Of course not. I can still look at last year's cutoff, as well as peruse the current blogosphere rumor mill.

This obsession will undoubtedly steal my mind's focus until my score is posted sometime this week or next (likely next). Thankfully, I have a dissertation and manuscript to edit for labmates, providing some suitable distractions while not at the bench. But things will be a bit different on the home front this weekend. Hubby and I are going out for our birthdays (we share a birthday - how cute is that), and he'll likely have to pry the HTC Evo from my cold, dead hands before he'll get me to stop browsing the web at dinner.

So is the life of a somewhat-OCD scientist.

It's nice to know pregnancy hasn't changed everything.

This can't be healthy.

This post has been viewed: 339 time(s)

Blog Comments

Dr. Zeek
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Oh my god, I did the same thing when I was waiting for the results from my NRSA resubmission.  I spent everyday clicking endlessly around, trying to find out what the numbers mean, etc.  I went so far as printing out the roster and looking at the websites of the reviewers thinking that I knew none of them and that they all did clinical research.  Would they get what I was trying to do?  Did I sound like an idiot? I kept myself awake at night with worry for about two months after it was confirmed that that they had my awesome application package.

Funny thing is, I didn't even realize that they had posted my scores.  I was so stressed about other things that the meeting date flew by without me even realizing it.  When my PI came in and asked about the scores (since all I could talk about for weeks before hand was the review) I looked at him dumbfounded thinking, "No, it's only the 5th, the meeting isn't until the 7th." That's when my boss told me to put down the pipetteman, check the calender and the commons and then go home because it was the 8th and obviously I needed a break.

At least I am NOT the only one who does this (and even when I sent in my progress report this month I checked the commons religoously for a week to see if anything changed).


Jason Goldman
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

w00000t! good luck.


Nikkilina
Washington University School of Medicine
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Try to put it out of your mind. You did the best you could, and it's out fo your hands now. Good luck!


biochem belle
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

This makes me think it was a good thing that for the last grant I submitted to NIH (NRSA in grad school), they were still using the paper system. I will probably be an OCD hot mess when it comes time for my K award submission/review...


Dr. O
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

It seems biology finds ways of taking care of things like this. I'm now suffering from the beginnings of a brutal sinus infection, and I haven't tried to check out eRA all day. Barely made it into work to take care of some samples; now heading home to sleep more...bleh. At least the obsession is (temporarily) cured.

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends