banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2017 (0)2011 (4)
February (2)

PSA: It's cold, buy a Carbon Monoxide Detector.
Thursday, February 10, 2011

Cold Fusion
Tuesday, February 1, 2011
January (2)

Going back
Thursday, January 27, 2011

Fun with Jackass
Wednesday, January 26, 2011
2010 (33)
December (4)

The 12 days of (Lab) Christmas
Friday, December 24, 2010

I really hope there isn't a number 3
Thursday, December 9, 2010

So why don't you have more papers?
Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Picking a project
Thursday, December 2, 2010
November (2)October (7)

As promised: Geeka and A Cow
Saturday, October 23, 2010

Finishing something
Saturday, October 23, 2010

A cartwheeling Geeka
Monday, October 18, 2010

Some Classroom got funded, I get embarrassed.
Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Bounty for Donor's Choose
Wednesday, October 6, 2010

If I couldn't be a scientist
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

That's not the shape of his head.
Friday, October 1, 2010
September (6)

Glutton for Punishment
Saturday, September 25, 2010

I talk to machines.
Friday, September 24, 2010

World's worst Journal Club.
Monday, September 20, 2010

The IACUC Chair
Thursday, September 16, 2010

Hell, I did know then, I just didn't know it until it hit me.
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Stuff Geeka Likes: The Toys Edition
Wednesday, September 1, 2010
August (9)

How I ended up a scientist.
Saturday, August 28, 2010

Monday morning crapped on my head.
Monday, August 23, 2010

Naming your equipment
Thursday, August 19, 2010

Stuff Geeka Likes: Inaugural edition
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Silent Squee
Wednesday, August 11, 2010

In which I come clean
Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Having a bad day
Monday, August 9, 2010

My blogging philosophy
Friday, August 6, 2010

Balance? We don't need no stinking balance.
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
July (5)
Rate This Post
Total votes: 1
Blogger Profile

Geeka

Hi! I'm Geeka. I've been a scientist for, I don't know, it seems like forever, I guess since I started college, so, like 15 years? Anyhow, this is where I'm going to give my take on a bunch of stuff. I'm usually a little bit out there (that is, I don't see the obvious at the outset), which means that you are probably going to have to deal with reading such topics as: Interpersonal relationship training for scientists, my lab pet peeves, how to get along in business when you just came straight out of academia, trying to deal with having a life and being a scientist, really odd topics for a paper, random stuff I found on the internet that made me shoot coffee out of my nose, you know, (ab)normal Geeka. Why the title? Because at the very heart of me, I'm a virologist, and while I don't necessarily do that now, it's how I view the scientific world.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Monday, October 18, 2010

When I was a young(ish) grad student, it took me forever to get my first clones. I worshiped at the alter of XhoI and KpnI. I slept with the NEB catalogue. Finally, I mentioned that if these colonies, yes, these ones here on this dish, if they were right, I would do a cartwheel in front of Jackass's door.

So I did.

A couple of things:

  • I didn't got to grad school in the 50's, our building just looked like that.
  • I was allowed to wear those shorts in lab.
  • I was wearing at least one pink sock.
  • I don't remember why my legs are that tan.
  • I got kicked out of ballet class. I am not graceful. That is as close to a cartwheel as I get.
  • I don't own a scanner.
  • We would put our drinks on the fire alarms (red box on top of wall).

 

Come on people. There is some teacher who is appealing to donors choose because her kindergarten students don't have chairs. CHAIRS to sit on.

This post has been viewed: 270 time(s)

Blog Comments

Jason Goldman
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

The best part of this is that you took a photograph of a photograph.


JanedeLartigue
UC Davis
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Ha ha, brilliant!  I'm going to follow suit and do one of these if my stupid cloning that I'm working on ever bloody works...I feel your pain!


Brian Krueger, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

LOL, no scanner handy??


27 and a PhD
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

LOVING this!


Tideliar
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Nice one Geeka! Everyone needs a cloning dance!


Geeka
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

No scanner handy. I'm sure as hell not bring stuff like this to work!


Nikkilina
Washington University School of Medicine
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Geeka said:

No scanner handy. I'm sure as hell not bring stuff like this to work!

But you'll post it on the internet??


Evie
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Great pic :)


Geeka
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

Nikkilina said:

Geeka said:

No scanner handy. I'm sure as hell not bring stuff like this to work!

But you'll post it on the internet??

I have strange rules. Haven't you figured that out yet? Wink

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends