banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2014 (0)2011 (43)
October (8)

For the math nerd in you.
Saturday, October 29, 2011

Misguided.
Friday, October 28, 2011

On-line therapy
Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Moving towards generosity.
Sunday, October 16, 2011

The Longest Revision process ever?
Friday, October 14, 2011

Okay enough of the bitching and complaining. More importantly...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Donor's Choose!
Saturday, October 8, 2011

Update on #madwriting
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
September (7)

What's the use of Dropbox?
Thursday, September 22, 2011

It's the buddhist in me.
Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Seriously?
Monday, September 19, 2011

Homeward Bound
Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cell division
Friday, September 9, 2011

A giant leap backward
Thursday, September 8, 2011

Yup.
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
August (6)

This is wicked.
Friday, August 26, 2011

What will happen to Canada's opposition?
Tuesday, August 23, 2011

AcademicWomensansBabies
Monday, August 22, 2011

How people in science see each other.
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dork moments brought to you by Girlpostdoc
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Another one bites the dust.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
July (8)

Decisions, decisions...
Saturday, July 30, 2011

So what are you going to do with that?
Friday, July 29, 2011

Probabilities
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

more travelling...
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

travelling...
Friday, July 22, 2011

If you're a working-class American who still votes Republican ... you're stupid (Bill Maher)
Friday, July 15, 2011

Do academics have charisma?
Thursday, July 7, 2011

Happy long weekend.
Friday, July 1, 2011
June (5)

Love this.
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Not our proudest moment. But damn makes for a good laugh.
Saturday, June 18, 2011

Mansplaining without the man.
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Twitter sucks.
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

I loved this video
Friday, June 10, 2011
May (4)April (5)

Because IT'S FRIDAY!!!!
Friday, April 29, 2011

Because it's not quite Friday.
Thursday, April 28, 2011

Staggering, but frankly not surprising.
Friday, April 22, 2011

Hinterland of Canadian science.
Friday, April 15, 2011

New Digs
Friday, April 15, 2011
Blogger Profile

JaniceF

I can't promise to be PG13. In fact I promise not to be PG13.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Views: 868 | Comments: 3
Last by Amanda on Oct 14, 2011, 12:51pm
Well I did it.  I wrote the crappiest piece of shiza manuscript I have in a long time.  But the reason I made myself do this is I have a perfectionism problem.   This was an experiment to see if I could find a way to overcome that challenge. 

Now I have what I like to call the pseudocode for a manuscript.  All I have to do is work on it just 1 paragraph or 1 figure a day (and/or 1hr a day) and pretty soon I'll have a manuscript worth sending to RedBull.  We'll see how it goes.....

So peeps did anyone else do a #madwriting fest?  Do they find it helps or hinders their writing (of any kind!)?

. . . More
Views: 1064 | Comments: 8
Last by JaniceF on Sep 25, 2011, 4:27pm
So yesterday, I went and bought extra space in my DropBox because I was running low on space on my laptop hard drive.  I'm storing data that requires 40GB of memory.  Because of the way DropBox works, ie it syncs your computer, it turns out that in order to use that extra space, I have to have extra space on my laptop.  But the reason I bought the extra space was because of a LACK of space on my computer.

Any suggestions?

. . . More
Views: 1207 | Comments: 1
Last by Suzy on Sep 21, 2011, 8:51pm
Life as a postdoc is hard, but I try harder to remember this.

. . . More
Views: 966 | Comments: 4
Last by Bill Feger on Sep 22, 2011, 3:38pm
Made it back home safe.  Got my fellowship application in on time - 2 hrs to spare.  Yeah me! 

Went into the lab today and saw RedBull for the first time in two months. Our conversation went like this"

"Hey RedBull. Just came by to say, hello and I'm back!"

"Oh okay.  Your priority over the next two months is to get that analysis on the Alphabetum done and turned into a manuscript." 

Not even a 'hello how are you' or 'welcome back'. Seriously? Well, at least it's not forever.  In fact, if I have it my way, I could be doing something else next year.
 

. . . More
Views: 342 | Comments: 3
Last by JaySeeDub on Sep 14, 2011, 2:16pm
Well I'm finally heading home after a very productive time at BigEasternU.  I gave lab meeting on Monday and yesterday ElectricPotential and I met to discuss where we're at on the project.  He feels I've collected enough to write up a manuscript.  I've been extremely productive but even better is my renewed excitement about science and my research.  It's wicked. 

Now comes the hard part.  Writing up the manuscript. 

In the meantime, I have a fellowship application to complete and (while I think it's probably about a year premature), I will be applying for jobs this year.  So it means I'll have to move on revising my Research and Teaching Statement. You just never know...

Wish me luck!

. . . More
Friends