banner
You are not using a standards compliant browser. Because of this you may notice minor glitches in the rendering of this page. Please upgrade to a compliant browser for optimal viewing:
Firefox
Internet Explorer 7
Safari (Mac and PC)
Post Archive
2014 (0)2011 (43)
October (8)

For the math nerd in you.
Saturday, October 29, 2011

Misguided.
Friday, October 28, 2011

On-line therapy
Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Moving towards generosity.
Sunday, October 16, 2011

The Longest Revision process ever?
Friday, October 14, 2011

Okay enough of the bitching and complaining. More importantly...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Donor's Choose!
Saturday, October 8, 2011

Update on #madwriting
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
September (7)

What's the use of Dropbox?
Thursday, September 22, 2011

It's the buddhist in me.
Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Seriously?
Monday, September 19, 2011

Homeward Bound
Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cell division
Friday, September 9, 2011

A giant leap backward
Thursday, September 8, 2011

Yup.
Tuesday, September 6, 2011
August (6)

This is wicked.
Friday, August 26, 2011

What will happen to Canada's opposition?
Tuesday, August 23, 2011

AcademicWomensansBabies
Monday, August 22, 2011

How people in science see each other.
Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dork moments brought to you by Girlpostdoc
Sunday, August 7, 2011

Another one bites the dust.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
July (8)

Decisions, decisions...
Saturday, July 30, 2011

So what are you going to do with that?
Friday, July 29, 2011

Probabilities
Wednesday, July 27, 2011

more travelling...
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

travelling...
Friday, July 22, 2011

If you're a working-class American who still votes Republican ... you're stupid (Bill Maher)
Friday, July 15, 2011

Do academics have charisma?
Thursday, July 7, 2011

Happy long weekend.
Friday, July 1, 2011
June (5)

Love this.
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Not our proudest moment. But damn makes for a good laugh.
Saturday, June 18, 2011

Mansplaining without the man.
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Twitter sucks.
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

I loved this video
Friday, June 10, 2011
May (4)April (5)

Because IT'S FRIDAY!!!!
Friday, April 29, 2011

Because it's not quite Friday.
Thursday, April 28, 2011

Staggering, but frankly not surprising.
Friday, April 22, 2011

Hinterland of Canadian science.
Friday, April 15, 2011

New Digs
Friday, April 15, 2011
Rate This Post
Total votes: 0
Blogger Profile

JaniceF

I can't promise to be PG13. In fact I promise not to be PG13.

My posts are presented as opinion and commentary and do not represent the views of LabSpaces Productions, LLC, my employer, or my educational institution.

Blog RSS Feed
RSS Add to My Yahoo Add to Google
Tuesday, July 26, 2011

I'm travelling yet again today - thankfully it's a direct flight.  But I am sitting in the airport, waiting to board and across from me are what would be cute, small creatures except that they are screaming, strike that, sqeeling in glee.  Their harried father keeps saying, "this is not good airport behaviour" and "inside voices please."  He is on is iphone trying to ignore them now.  You know, I remember that age and just squeeling for no reason whatsoever.  Please, please let me not sit beside, in back of, or any where near those creatures.  Travelling is such a challenge.  In another week I'll be on a plane again and then 10 days later I have another trip.  Any tips on how to make this a more relaxing and less stressful time?

This post has been viewed: 374 time(s)

Blog Comments

Alchemystress
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

books magazines.. laptop with some work.. oh and booze :)


Doctor Zen
The University of Texas-Pan American
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

An iPod (particularly one with video capabilities) with good sound-isolating headphones.


JaniceF
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

@Alchemystress Booze.  That would turn me into a drunken and lolling passenger.

@DrZen what type of headphones?  Bose?

MissMSE

Guest Comment

Any type of over-ear headphone is a great start. I like the Sony MDR-XD line for over-ear. It's not marketed as sound isolating, but they work much better than earbuds do. I find books more relaxing than laptops, since laptops tend to reinforce the complete lack of space.

 

Also, bringing a wrap or pashmina of some sort helps me relax when they decide that 40F is the correct temperature for inside the plane.


Alchemystress
Rate Post:

Like 0 Dislike

drunken lolling passenger.. fantastic.. well it would be entertainment for all :)

Add Comment?
Comments are closed 2 weeks after initial post.
Friends